Best Premium Built In Microwave by Capacity and Fit

A built-in microwave lives or dies on the cutout, not the wattage. Six picks compared on capacity, warranty, install path and what the trim kit actually costs you in cabinet inches.

Share

The best premium built in microwave for most kitchens is the Frigidaire Gallery GMBS3068BF, a 2.2 cu. ft. box that slides into a 24 3/4 inch cutout and pairs with a 27 or 30 inch trim kit for a flush install. If your cabinet is a hard 24 inches and wired to a 20-amp outlet, the KoolMore Reserve KM-CWO24-AFSS is the smarter pick, adding convection and air fry inside the same footprint.

How I cut a long list down to six

I started with the built-in and over-the-range listings that showed complete cutout dimensions, a stated wattage or capacity, and a warranty term I could quote. Anything without a cutout figure got cut first: a "built-in" microwave that hides the hole it needs to fill is a listing to walk past.

From the survivors, I kept six that cover the real install paths a premium kitchen actually uses. Three are true built-ins with trim kits: the Frigidaire Gallery GMBS3068BF, the Summit SMBI24, and the KoolMore Reserve KM-CWO24-AFSS. One is a wall-oven combo unit in the same 24 inch family, the AAOBOSI built-in convection microwave. Two are over-the-range models kept as honest comparisons for readers weighing a vent hood install against a wall cutout: the GE JVM3160RFSS and the BLACK+DECKER EC942K6CE-SS.

Three reasons picks were cut:

  1. No published cutout width, height or depth. A built-in without a cutout spec is a countertop model in a nicer photo.
  2. No warranty term stated on the listing. On a premium built in microwave that will be screwed into cabinetry, a missing warranty is a real signal.
  3. Duplicate footprints from the same brand with no meaningful capacity or feature difference.

That left the six here. The set spans 1.5 cu. ft. to 2.2 cu. ft., 1-year to 3-year warranties, and price positions from the cheapest of the six up to the premium tier.

Best premium built in microwave at a glance

Pick Capacity Cutout / footprint Warranty Price
Best overall
Frigidaire Gallery GMBS3068BF
2.2 cu. ft. 24 3/4 x 20 x 16 3/4 in cutout 1 year Check Price
Best minimal setup
KoolMore Reserve KM-CWO24-AFSS
1.6 cu. ft. 17.9 x 24.4 x 23.4 in 3 years parts and labor Check Price
Best premium
AAOBOSI Built-in Convection
1.6 cu. ft. 17.9 x 22.4 x 23.4 in 3 (claim) Check Price
Best upgrade
Summit SMBI24
24 in trim kit included 15 3/4 x 22 1/2 x 18 1/4 in cutout Summit Appliance warranty Check Price
Best warranty
BLACK+DECKER EC942K6CE-SS
1.5 cu. ft. 16.4 x 13.9 x 29.9 in over-range 1 year Check Price
Best budget pick
GE JVM3160RFSS
1.6 cu. ft. 16.5 x 15.3 x 29.9 in over-range 1 year Check Price

What decides a premium built-in, and what does not

Most guides on the best premium built in microwave compare wattage. That is not what decides it. The number that decides it is the cabinet cutout, measured to the eighth of an inch, because a microwave that misses the cutout by half an inch is a returned appliance no matter how many watts it draws.

The second deciding number is the electrical circuit. The KoolMore Reserve calls out a 20-amp NEMA 5-20P plug in its listing, and that T-slot receptacle is not the outlet most kitchens have under the counter. Check that before you check the reviews, because rewiring a dedicated 20-amp line is an electrician's morning, not an afternoon.

Wattage is a tiebreaker, not the criterion. Between a 900W and a 1000W unit, real reheat times differ by seconds on a plate of leftovers.

The Frigidaire Gallery GMBS3068BF wins because it is the only pick here with a full 2.2 cu. ft. cavity and a published cutout spec that fits standard 27 and 30 inch cabinets with the matching trim kit.

Frigidaire Gallery built-in microwave in stainless steel — the 2.2 cu. ft. cavity that anchors this roundup

Best for: a 27 or 30 inch cabinet cutout with a wall oven above Skip it if: you want the trim kit included in the box

The Frigidaire Gallery GMBS3068BF measures 24.4 in wide by 19.6 in deep by 13.6 in high, and the listing publishes a cutout of 24 3/4 x 20 x 16 3/4 in. That is a rare piece of clarity in this set: two of the six picks describe their footprint in cabinet-friendly numbers, and this is the cleanest of them. The 2.2 cu. ft. cavity is the largest here, which matters if you actually cook casseroles in a microwave rather than reheating a mug of coffee.

Frigidaire says sensors set the power level and cook time automatically. Treat that as a claim, not a measurement, but it is a claim buyers of the best premium built in microwave will want to see. The trim kits are model GMTK2768AF for 27 inch cabinets and GMTK3068AF for 30 inch cabinets, sold separately, which is the trade-off: the flush look costs a second line item.

Against the KoolMore and AAOBOSI picks, the Frigidaire gives up convection and air fry. Against the Summit, it gives up an included trim kit. What it wins is capacity and a footprint that drops into the two most common built-in cutouts without adapters.

Pros:

  • Largest cavity in the set at 2.2 cu. ft.
  • Published cutout of 24 3/4 x 20 x 16 3/4 in
  • Trim kit options for both 27 and 30 inch cabinets
  • Sensor cook claim on the listing
  • Sells faster than most true built-ins here

Cons:

  • Trim kit is sold separately
  • 1 year warranty is short for the price position
  • No convection or air fry
  • No weight published on the listing

2. KoolMore Reserve KM-CWO24-AFSS — Best minimal setup

The KoolMore Reserve is the pick when your cutout is a hard 24 inches and you want convection, air fry and a 3-year warranty in the same box.

KoolMore Reserve black built-in microwave convection oven with air fry — a 24 inch combo unit

Best for: a 24 inch cutout on a dedicated 20-amp circuit Skip it if: your kitchen only has a standard 15-amp outlet nearby

At 17.9 in deep by 24.4 in wide by 23.4 in high and 93.7 lb, the KoolMore Reserve KM-CWO24-AFSS is the tallest pick here and one of the two heaviest, matched only by the AAOBOSI. That height buys a 1.6 cu. ft. cavity plus room for convection air circulation, which the Frigidaire cannot do. KoolMore says the unit combines microwave, convection oven and air fryer in one enclosure, along with sensor cook and a soft-close door.

The 20-amp NEMA 5-20P plug is the catch. That is a dedicated circuit with a T-slot outlet, and it is not what most under-counter microwave alcoves already have. Check the outlet in the cabinet before you order, because a 15-amp outlet will not accept the plug.

The 3-year parts and labor warranty is the longest published term in this set. Against the Frigidaire, KoolMore trades 0.6 cu. ft. of cavity for convection, air fry and two extra years of coverage. Against the AAOBOSI, which offers a similar feature set at a similar footprint, KoolMore has the clearer power spec but a shallower depth by an inch.

Pros:

  • 3-year parts and labor warranty, the longest here
  • 3-in-1 microwave, convection and air fry in one 24 inch box
  • CSA certified per the listing
  • Soft-close door claim
  • Clear NEMA 5-20P wiring spec on the listing

Cons:

  • Requires a dedicated 20-amp T-slot outlet
  • 93.7 lb makes solo installation impractical
  • 1.6 cu. ft. is smaller than the Frigidaire's 2.2
  • Only one seller listing it

3. AAOBOSI 24 Inch Built-in Convection Microwave — Best premium

AAOBOSI is the pick when you want the twelve-function feature list and a 3-year warranty claim in a slightly deeper cabinet footprint than the KoolMore.

AAOBOSI 24 inch built-in microwave convection oven in stainless steel — a twelve-function combo

Best for: cooks who want twelve functions and a 3-year warranty in one 24 inch box Skip it if: you need a quick delivery from a well-stocked seller

The AAOBOSI built-in convection microwave shares almost the same envelope as the KoolMore: 17.9 in deep, 22.4 in wide, 23.4 in high, and 90 lb on the scale. The cavity is 1.6 cu. ft., matching the KoolMore and the GE, and the trim finish is a silver stainless steel. AAOBOSI's listing calls out twelve cooking functions, more than any other pick here, including auto defrost, sensor cook, sensor reheat, air fry, popcorn and beverage.

Two sellers list it, which is one more than every other product in this set. That is a small point of resilience if the primary seller runs out. The listing publishes a 3 as the warranty value, which reads as a 3-year term consistent with the brand's stated coverage.

The slowest seller of the six sits here, so this is a pick for buyers who know what they want, not the box the algorithm is nudging them toward. Against the KoolMore, AAOBOSI gives up the soft-close door claim and adds an inch of depth. Against the Frigidaire, it gives up 0.6 cu. ft. of cavity and gains convection, air fry and a longer warranty.

Pros:

  • Twelve cooking functions listed
  • 3-year warranty per the listing
  • Two sellers stock it, more than any other pick
  • Glass touch control panel
  • Stainless interior claim

Cons:

  • Deepest 24 inch footprint at 22.4 in wide
  • 90 lb weight needs two installers
  • Slowest seller of the six
  • Warranty stated as a bare number, not a full term

4. Summit SMBI24 — Best upgrade

Summit is the pick when the install path is unusual: above a wall oven, below the counter, or into a cutout tighter than most 24 inch models expect.

Summit 24 inch built-in microwave with included stainless trim kit — a flexible install option

Best for: installers who need front venting above, below or over a wall oven Skip it if: your cutout is 27 or 30 inches wide

The Summit SMBI24 ships with the stainless steel trim kit in the box, which is the feature the Frigidaire buyer has to add separately. Summit publishes a cutout of 15 3/4 in high by 22 1/2 in wide by 18 1/4 in deep, and the unit weighs 75 lb. The listing states 1000W and calls out front venting so the microwave can go above or below the counter, or over a wall oven.

That flexibility is the case for this pick. Two of the six here are locked to over-the-range mounting, and three are locked to a specific cutout family. Summit is the only pick that names three different install paths on its own listing. The digital controls include popcorn, pizza and beverage presets, a 30-second quick start, and a child safety lock.

The trade-off is that Summit does not add convection or air fry, so it competes with the Frigidaire on install flexibility rather than cooking modes. Its cavity is not stated in cubic feet on the listing, which is the reason it is not the overall winner: a built-in microwave that leaves capacity unstated is asking the shopper to guess.

Pros:

  • Trim kit included, not a separate purchase
  • Front-venting design for above, below or over a wall oven
  • Child safety lock on the control panel
  • Multistage programming per the listing
  • 75 lb, the lightest of the true built-ins here

Cons:

  • Cavity not stated in cubic feet
  • Cutout is smaller than typical 27 and 30 inch installs
  • Warranty term not stated as a duration
  • Slowest-selling built-in in the set

5. BLACK+DECKER EC942K6CE-SS — Best warranty

BLACK+DECKER is the pick when the install is over a 30 inch range and you want an air fryer mode in the same box as the vent hood.

BLACK+DECKER over-the-range microwave with air fryer in stainless steel — a 6-in-1 vent hood combo

Best for: renters and remodelers who need vent and light over a 30 inch range Skip it if: you want a true built-in flush look with a trim kit

The BLACK+DECKER EC942K6CE-SS is an over-the-range unit at 29.9 in wide, 13.9 in deep and 16.4 in high, with a 1.5 cu. ft. cavity and a 13.6 in turntable. The listing describes six functions: microwave, air fryer, convection, combi grill, bake and roast. That is the most cooking modes in any over-the-range unit here, and it is the reason this pick earns a place in a roundup about the best premium built in microwave: for kitchens that will never gain a wall cutout, a 6-in-1 over-the-range unit is the honest alternative.

The 300 CFM vent fan and integrated light address the reason people mount a microwave over a range in the first place. Sensor reheat is claimed on the listing.

The 1-year warranty is short for a unit doing this much work. The buyers choose this one most often out of the six, which suggests the vent-plus-air-fry combination sells itself.

Pros:

  • Six cooking functions including air fry and convection
  • 300 CFM 2-speed vent fan with integrated light
  • 13.6 in turntable
  • Sensor reheat claim on the listing
  • The one buyers choose most often here

Cons:

  • Over-the-range, not a true built-in
  • 1 year warranty is the shortest tier
  • 900W is lower than the GE and Summit
  • Depth of 13.9 in limits large casserole dishes

6. GE JVM3160RFSS — Best budget pick

The GE JVM3160RFSS is the cheapest of the six and the honest floor for a kitchen that needs a microwave, a vent and a light in one 30 inch box.

GE 30 inch over-the-range microwave in stainless steel — a 1.6 cu. ft. vent hood combo

Best for: a first kitchen that needs vent, light and reheat above a 30 inch stove Skip it if: you have a dedicated wall cutout waiting for a real built-in

At 29.9 in wide, 15.3 in deep, 16.5 in high and 40 lb, the GE JVM3160RFSS is the lightest microwave here by a wide margin. The cavity is 1.6 cu. ft. and the listing states 1000W. This is the cheapest of the six and the second-fastest seller in the set, behind only the BLACK+DECKER.

GE calls out a 300 CFM 2-speed ventilation system, a replaceable charcoal filter, one-touch express cooking, and four convenience cook settings. Those are the four things an over-the-range unit is bought for, and the listing keeps to that list without promising convection or air fry.

Against the BLACK+DECKER, the GE gives up air fry, convection and grill but drops in weight and price position. Against the four true built-ins, it gives up the flush cabinet look entirely, which is why it is the budget pick in a premium roundup rather than a contender for the winner's slot. If your renovation budget puts the wall cutout out of reach, this is the honest fallback.

Pros:

  • Cheapest of the six
  • 40 lb, the lightest unit here
  • 300 CFM 2-speed vent with charcoal filter
  • 1000W stated on the listing
  • One-touch express cooking with four cook settings

Cons:

  • Over-the-range only, no built-in cutout option
  • 1 year warranty
  • No convection, grill or air fry
  • No trim kit path for a flush install

How much cabinet space do you actually need?

The single most common mistake in shopping for the best premium built in microwave is measuring the door opening instead of the rough cutout. Every built-in in this roundup needs a cutout larger than its own outside dimensions, and the difference varies.

Here is the cutout picture from the listings, ranked by width:

  1. Frigidaire Gallery GMBS3068BF: 24 3/4 in wide x 20 in deep x 16 3/4 in high
  2. Summit SMBI24: 22 1/2 in wide x 18 1/4 in deep x 15 3/4 in high
  3. KoolMore Reserve KM-CWO24-AFSS: 24.4 in wide x 23.4 in deep x 17.9 in high (unit dimensions; listing does not publish a separate cutout figure)
  4. AAOBOSI built-in convection: 22.4 in wide x 23.4 in deep x 17.9 in high (unit dimensions)

Two things to notice. First, only two of the four true built-ins state a cutout separate from the unit's own dimensions, which is the Frigidaire and the Summit. Second, the KoolMore and AAOBOSI are noticeably deeper than the Frigidaire and Summit, by roughly three to five inches. In a shallow cabinet run, that depth is what stops the door from closing behind the trim.

Measure the cabinet width, the cabinet depth from the face frame to the back wall, and the cabinet height between shelves. Compare all three to the listing before you buy.

Is an air fryer combo worth the wiring?

Three of the six picks include air fry: the KoolMore Reserve, the AAOBOSI, and the BLACK+DECKER. The two true built-ins in that group, KoolMore and AAOBOSI, are also the two heaviest units and the two with the longest published warranty terms.

Here is the trade-off, in plain terms:

  • Yes, if you already run air fryer meals two or three times a week and the cabinet loses a countertop appliance in exchange. The KoolMore and AAOBOSI recover their footprint by killing the standalone air fryer.
  • Yes, if the outlet in the cabinet is already a 20-amp NEMA 5-20P T-slot, which the KoolMore Reserve calls out on its listing.
  • No, if the microwave alcove is on a shared 15-amp circuit, because moving to a dedicated 20-amp line is an electrician's job.
  • No, if the cavity capacity matters more than the modes. The Frigidaire's 2.2 cu. ft. is 0.6 cu. ft. larger than any combo unit here.

A convection-plus-air-fry combo is not a straight upgrade to a plain built-in. It is a different appliance category using the same cabinet slot.

What the listings do not tell you

Three things the six listings in this set will not answer, and how to fill the gap yourself:

  • Real reheat time on a plate of leftovers. Wattage is on every listing here, from 900W to 1000W. That is a lab figure, not a kitchen figure. Real reheat time depends on plate mass, moisture, and whether the sensor works well on that food. Read the manufacturer's cook chart if it publishes one.
  • How loud the vent is on the over-the-range units. The GE and BLACK+DECKER both claim 300 CFM, which is a flow rate, not a sound rating. Neither listing publishes a decibel figure.
  • Whether the trim kit is really cabinet-friendly. The Frigidaire trim kits are model GMTK2768AF for 27 inch and GMTK3068AF for 30 inch cabinets, and the Summit ships with its trim kit in the box. In both cases, look at the trim kit's own dimensions before you commit to a specific cabinet width, because "27 inch" and "30 inch" are cabinet class names, not exact openings.

The verdict

The best premium built in microwave in this set is the Frigidaire Gallery GMBS3068BF. It has the largest cavity at 2.2 cu. ft., the clearest cutout spec at 24 3/4 x 20 x 16 3/4 in, and trim kit options for both 27 and 30 inch cabinets. Two conditions flip that recommendation.

First, if your cabinet cutout is a hard 24 inches with a 20-amp T-slot outlet already installed, the KoolMore Reserve KM-CWO24-AFSS is the better pick. It fits the tighter opening, adds convection and air fry, and carries a 3-year parts and labor warranty that the Frigidaire's 1-year term cannot match.

Second, if you want twelve cooking functions and two sellers stocking the unit, the AAOBOSI built-in convection microwave is the alternative to KoolMore inside the same 24 inch class, at 22.4 in wide instead of 24.4 in.

If a wall cutout is not on the table, the BLACK+DECKER EC942K6CE-SS is the honest over-the-range answer with air fry, convection and vent hood in one box, and the GE JVM3160RFSS is the cheapest of the six for a straightforward vent-and-reheat install over a 30 inch range.

FAQ

What size cutout does the best premium built in microwave usually need?

What size cutout depends on the model, which is why the cutout spec should decide the purchase. The Frigidaire Gallery GMBS3068BF calls for 24 3/4 x 20 x 16 3/4 in, and the Summit SMBI24 calls for 22 1/2 x 18 1/4 x 15 3/4 in. Confirm the cabinet width, depth and height against the listing before you commit, because a half-inch mismatch can send the unit back.

Is a built-in microwave with convection and air fry worth it?

A built-in microwave with convection and air fry is worth it if you already use an air fryer twice a week and want to recover the counter space. The KoolMore Reserve and AAOBOSI both list convection plus air fry in a 1.6 cu. ft. cavity. Neither will replace a full wall oven, and both require more depth in the cabinet than a plain microwave.

How does the Frigidaire GMBS3068BF compare to the KoolMore Reserve?

The Frigidaire GMBS3068BF compares to the KoolMore Reserve on two axes. Frigidaire gives you 2.2 cu. ft. of cavity in a 24 3/4 in wide cutout with a separately sold trim kit and a 1 year warranty. KoolMore gives you 1.6 cu. ft. in a 24 in cabinet with convection, air fry, and a 3 year parts and labor warranty. Capacity versus modes, in one sentence.

Do I need a dedicated 20-amp circuit for a premium built-in microwave?

You need a dedicated 20-amp circuit for the KoolMore Reserve, which lists a NEMA 5-20P plug with a T-slot receptacle. The other picks in this roundup do not publish that requirement, but manufacturer install guides commonly ask for a dedicated line. Check the outlet in the cabinet before you order, and treat rewiring as an electrician's job, not a weekend one.

What is the biggest mistake buyers make with over-the-range microwaves?

The biggest mistake buyers make is treating an over-the-range unit as a substitute for a true built-in. The GE JVM3160RFSS and BLACK+DECKER EC942K6CE-SS mount above a 30 inch range with a vent fan and light, which is a different job than sitting flush in a cabinet cutout. Buy an over-the-range unit for venting, not for the flush cabinet look a trim kit delivers.

Start by measuring three numbers before you look at a single listing: the cabinet width, the cabinet depth from face frame to back wall, and the height between the shelves. Take a photo of the outlet inside the alcove and check whether the receptacle is a standard three-prong or the T-slot 20-amp shape the KoolMore Reserve calls for. With those four pieces of information, the Frigidaire Gallery GMBS3068BF is the default answer, and the reason is boring: it publishes the cleanest cutout in the set and the largest cavity, which is what a premium install actually needs to look right.

Last updated: September 19, 2026. Product availability re-checked.

This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.